MCC Athletics announces Academic All-Region honors

The Marshalltown Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 39 MCC student-athletes qualified for Spring Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The Tiger baseball team qualified 19 players: First Team include Carson Zenger of Wamego, KS; Dillon Sullivan of Parrish, FL; Jackson Stephen of Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada; Jake Cleveringa of Cedar Bluffs, NE; Jason Blouin of Surrey, British Columbia, Canada; Josh Mendoza of Mississauga, ON, Canada; Kardin Pearson of Valley Center, KS; Nathan Garcia of Panama City, Panama; Roger Viloria of Caracas, Venezuela; Sam Tyrpa of Minnetonka, MN; Santiago Gonzalez of Valencia, Venezuela; Tom Lethem of St. Albert, AB, Canadaand Tyler Coleman of Victoria, TX. Second Team honorees include Gabe Followell of Des Moines, IA; Gavin Greenwood of Lawrence, KS; Jake Medcalf of Franklin, TX; Ryan Kilpatrick of Cedar Rapids, IA; Tristen Petersen of Papillion, NEand Ty Kirby of Parker, CO.

The softball team qualified seven players: First Team include Bailey Ashton of Beaman, IA; Lexy Davis of West Burlington, IA and Nell Skeath of North Vancouver, BC. Second Team honorees include Brooke Fisher of Holden, MO; Mackenzie Olson of Pleasantville, IA; Melinda Puumala of Montour, IA and Taylor Hipsley of Redfield, IA.

The women's basketball team qualified seven players for academic honors, all receiving First Team honors. Players include: Carla Collado of Barcelona, Spain; Eva Carballo of Madrid, Spain; Eva Zaragoza of Madrid, Spain; Lauren Lyons of Grand Junction, IA; Lotte Van Malsen of Tilburg, Netherlands; Nuria Castillo of Barcelona, Spain and Whitley Ervin of Eaton, CO.

The men's basketball team qualified six players: First Team include Jacob Smith of Marshalltown, IA; Quavon Blackwood of Laurel, MDand Roger Guardiola of 
Giorona, Spain. Brayden Peterson of Marshalltown, IA; Chayce Leslie of Detroit, MIand Eric Amandio of Luanda, Angola all received Second Team honors.